Governor Hobbs Announces Arizona Community College Workforce Scholarship Program

THATCHER, Ariz. — Governor Katie Hobbs, in partnership with Arizona’s 10 public community college districts, has created the Arizona Community College Workforce Scholarship program to help Arizonans earn a credential, degree, or build advanced skills that lead to jobs in high-wage, high-growth occupations.

The scholarship is designed to provide Arizona students with the incentive to pursue a higher education certificate, degree, credential, or license resulting in a skilled workforce equipped to meet the demands of the state’s economy.

Governor Hobbs has allocated $4.5M in EANS federal funding to get the program started with public or private funding, helping to ensure the future of the program.

The Community College Workforce Scholarship program will provide financial support to students for the upcoming summer and fall semesters. It is projected that 9,000 – 10,000 Arizona students, including working adults, will be able to upskill or reskill. Through these scholarships, the state will move closer to reaching its Achieve60AZ education attainment goal.

Scholarships are targeted to the following high-wage, high-growth sectors with each community college focusing on regional industries in the communities they serve.

  • Advanced manufacturing, including semiconductors
  • Health Care
  • IT/cyber security/broadband/data analytics
  • Education and early education
  • Construction/trades/HVAC
  • Aerospace/defense
  • Veterinary technology
  • Dental hygienists and dental assistants
  • Tractor trailer driving
  • Insurance appraisers
  • Paralegal and legal assistants


Students participating in the Workforce Scholarship program are required to meet the following criteria:

  • Have a 2.0 GPA or better.
  • Meet with their academic advisor to review their academic plan and progress.
  • Be eligible for in-state status for tuition purposes as defined by Arizona Law and the College.
  • Be enrolled in or enroll in, a degree, certificate or credential program in one or more of the above high growth/high wage program areas.

Arizona’s ten community college districts serve 250,000 students each year. The colleges participating in the program include Arizona Western College, Central Arizona College, Cochise College, Coconino Community College, Eastern Arizona College, Maricopa Community Colleges, Mohave Community College, Northland Pioneer College, Pima Community College, and Yavapai College.

For more information about the Arizona Community College Workforce Scholarship Program, visit or email


About Eastern Arizona College:

Since 1888, Eastern Arizona College has been the undisputed Smart Higher Education Destination, shaping student dreams into reality. With a faculty of qualified and caring instructors, EAC is committed to preparing students for high-demand careers and advanced studies at top universities.

Offering a diverse range of over 90 degrees and certificates, EAC is home to the state’s premier nursing school, a fine arts program featuring Arizona’s only community college marching band, and an engineering program that equips students for success at top-tiered firms and universities.

Beyond academics, EAC is a vibrant community where students thrive, forging connections that last a lifetime. Experience on-campus housing, engage in over 30 clubs and organizations, participate in dynamic intramurals, and cheer for nationally ranked athletic and e-sports teams.

What sets EAC apart is its commitment to financial accessibility, allowing most students to graduate with $0 debt.

Choose EAC as your Smart Higher Education Destination. For more information, contact or call (928) 428-8272.